Profile information

Hi I am Nick and I will be presenting ‘The Mind is Flat’ over the next few weeks. I am a psychologist working on understanding basic principles of how our minds work and what these imply for language, culture and society. I have also been involved in practical applications of behavioural science in business (e.g. as a co-founder of Decision Technology, a research consultancy which started as a Warwick University spin-out) and policy (e.g. as a member of the advisory board of the Behavioural Insights Team at the UK Cabinet Office). I am the scientific advisor and regular contributor to The Human Zoo, on BBC Radio 4, which looks at daily life and current affairs through the lens of psychology. I hope you enjoy ‘The Mind is Flat’ and I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

Nick’s profile


Jess Whittlestone

Hi, I am Jess – I am one of Nick’s PhD students in the Behavioural Science Group at Warwick Business School and I’m going to be helping to respond to your questions and pull out issues from the discussions each week. I decided to study behavioural science because I want to better understand how we think and behave, which I believe is crucial for dealing with some of the biggest problems facing us today as a society. This course is the perfect introduction to some of these fascinating issues, and I am really looking forward to exploring them with you all!

Leave a Reply

